As anyone can probably tell from reading my blog, I love Mexican food. I love Mexican food of all shapes and sizes, but my absolute favorite is the famous Chipotle bowl. I’ve been on the hunt to find a homemade recipe for a Chipotle-style burrito bowl for the past few weeks, and so far I’ve found a few good recipes, but nothing outstanding.

This week, I tried something different.

Really the only thing required to make a burrito bowl is to take the contents of any Mexican food, remove the tortilla, and replace it with some rice. Today, I put that idea to the test by adapting a fajita recipe into fajita bowls.

The fajita recipe I used for this was a super easy slow-cooker recipe, which can be found here.

Here are all of the ingredients to make some fajita bowls:

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • Choice of 1 orange or green bell pepper
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp. taco seasoning
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 10 oz. can of tomatoes.
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • lime

The first thing to do is chop up all of the ingredients while the chicken thaws. Take the stem and seeds out of the bell peppers and slice them long-ways. Then, dice the yellow onion. The original recipe says to use one whole yellow onion, but I’m not a huge fan so I only used 3/4.

After chopping everything, place half of the onions and the peppers in the bottom of the slow cooker, and put the rest to the side. (A quick tip: I find that it’s helpful to have an empty bowl on hand while cooking to either be a trash bowl, or hold extra ingredients.)

Next, after the chicken is done thawing, chop the two breasts in half and place them in the slow cooker on top of the peppers and onions. Sprinkle 1 tbsp. of the taco seasoning on top of the chicken, then flip the breasts over and sprinkle another tbsp. on top.

IMG_2977
I have a small crock pot so you can’t see the peppers. 

After that, add the tomato, garlic and lime. In the case of diced tomatoes, make sure to drain the can before putting them in the pot. I chopped up a fresh tomato, and left 1/4 of the tomato to make guacamole later (recipe coming soon).

I used minced garlic instead of fresh garlic because we have about 4 cans of it in our fridge. I equate 1 clove of garlic to about half a teaspoon, so I added in four of those.

Then, place the rest of the bell peppers and onions on top of the chicken and let it sit on high for about 3 1/2 hours.

Once it sits for a while, grab a plate and two forks and pull out the chicken. Shred the chicken by pulling at it with the two forks,. It should fall apart extremely easily.

IMG_2982 Then, put it back in the pot to sit while you do some prep work. I used a cup of minute white rice and boiled it in a cup of water, then let it sit for about five minutes. That will make about two servings of rice.

Then, get out the toppings. A few things that I recommend to top of the fajita bowl are:

  • Shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • Homemade guacamole
  • Salsa
  • Sour cream

The last step is simply to pour some rice and the fajita mix into a bowl, and complete with toppings.

IMG_2984

It’s a great meal prep option for weekdays, and it’s really filling! It’s also quite a bit healthier than the classic chipotle bowl. Enjoy!

 

