Yesterday, I posted about some fajita bowls that I made for the week, and I also mentioned that I made some homemade guacamole to go along with it. Today, I’m going to tell you how to make some tasty guacamole for yourself.

A short background on this: every time my boyfriend and I make Mexican food, he makes this guacamole, and it is the best guacamole I have ever eaten. This is the first time I’ve tried to make it myself, and all I had to work off of as far as ingredients was what I’ve seen him buy at the store. I’m not sure how much of each ingredient he puts in, so I’m pretty much winging it.

Here is what I used to make the guacamole. I’ll include what my boyfriend says he uses as well, so you can pick which version you like best.

  • 2 soft avocados
  • 1/4 tomato (OR: 1 roma tomato)
  • 1/4 yellow onion (OR: 1/2 white onion)
  • About 1/2 tablespoon of minced garlic
  • Juice from a lime
  • Salt (and black pepper, optional)
  • 1 tsp. cumin

The first thing to do is chop the ingredients that need chopped. Instead of buying separate ingredients, I used the leftover 1/4 of the tomato and onion that I used to make the fajita bowls. Make sure these are cut up pretty small, depending on how smooth or chunky you like your guacamole.

Next, pit and peal the avocado. For making guacamole, you want the avocados to be almost overripe, so that they are easy to smash and you won’t end up with a bunch of large avocado chunks.

IMG_2980

Next, throw those into the bowl with the tomatoes and onions. Add the salt, pepper, cumin, lime juice and garlic, then start smashing everything together with a fork until it is smooth. This is a to-taste process, so taste a little bit as you go and add whatever extra things you think this needs. I ended up adding quite a bit more lime juice and a little bit more cumin.

After that, you can put this on top of any sort of dish you want. In this case, I put it on top of my fajita bowls, but you can put it on tacos, burritos, or even just eat it with some tortilla chips.

IMG_2981

This is pretty easy to save and eat for later as well, just make sure to use a small enough container, because the top layer will start to turn dark and gross-looking if put in a large container with too much air.

As an extra treat, I thought I would include a recipe for some “wine-slushies” that taste really good on a hot day, and they are a good option to switch out with margaritas when you’re eating Mexican food, because sometimes margaritas aren’t everyone’s thing.

This is possibly the most simple drink ever to make, and it is super adaptable. Just pick some sort of white or pink wine, for this I used a pink moscato (you can find ones that use red wine as well, if that’s more your thing).

IMG_2958

Then, pick up any frozen fruit mixture that you want from the freezer isle. We used a “tropical” blend that has pineapple, strawberry and mango. This would also go really well with some frozen peaches.

Then, pour both of those things in a blender with some ice and blend it up!

 

This is an awesome drink to sit by the pool with and relax, and it tastes nice and light, unlike a margarita would. I recommend it for all the huge wine fans out there.

What are some other tasty homemade guacamole recipes? I’m looking for one that might beat my boyfriend’s, but it will be a tough task.

 

