Last week before I went to my family dinner, I briefly explained how to make my grandma’s old pumpkin bread recipe. However, I did not have it made yet because I was making it for a brunch the next day. Since I only explained a simplified version of the recipe last week, I decided I would do a full post on pumpkin bread and how to make it. Here it goes…

So the ingredients you will need are: img_2803

  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 2 and 2/3 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 16 oz can of pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 3 and 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cloves

For this recipe we also have the return of my beloved electric mixer, which made my life 100 times easier while I was trying to make this. To start off, combine the shortening and sugar in a bowl until “fluffy.” Fluffy is what my grandma has written, but basically it just means until you get a slightly grainy-feeling paste. To do this, I mixed them together on low in the mixer, but then I took the bowl out and stirred by hand to make sure everything was blended evenly.

img_2804

The next step is to add in the wet ingredients, so the pumpkin, eggs and water. Blend that together on low in the mixer. At first, it is going to look extremely watery, but it will turn into a sort of batter as the flour and remaining dry ingredients are added. This bread is really going to act more like a cake than bread, so there will not be any leaving it in the fridge to rise or anything like that, and it will be a batter rather than dough.

img_2806

This is where things almost went terribly wrong for me. The next step is to add the remaining dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and cloves. I almost added in two tablespoons of baking soda on accident (not recommended) but  I was able to fish out the extra with a spoon before I started mixing. It was a narrowly avoided disaster.

img_2801
While taking a break from cooking, enjoy this random and blurry picture of my dog in her Christmas sweater. 

Save the flour for last and add in the rest of the ingredients. While mixing, gradually add the flour a cup at a time until the mix turns into a batter-like consistency. I would only go up to about medium speed on the mixer for all of these steps.

Once that is done, grab two 9×5 inch bread pans and grease and flour them. A way that I found to prevent anything from sticking to pans is putting vegetable oil on a paper towel and rubbing down the pan, then sprinkling some flour around each surface. Fill both of these pans evenly with the bread/cake batter and throw them in the oven at 350 degrees. These are going to take about an hour to cook, but make sure to check that a toothpick will pull out clean before you take them completely out of the oven. It could take up to 75 minutes.

img_2807

While the bread is in the oven, I decided to make a simple spread to go on top, which I mentioned in my previous blog post. The only things used to make the spread are an 8 oz package of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of maple syrup. Blend those together in a clean mixing bowl and it’s done! I had to turn my mixer on a pretty high speed to get the consistency I wanted, but it did not take more than 5 minutes.

Once the mix is done and the bread is out of the oven, it is all ready to eat! It’s also perfect for any family holiday party.

img_2810

