Happy Friday everyone! More importantly, happy national shraco day.

Tuesday was national taco day, so in typical broke college kid fashion I went to taco bell at about 11 p.m. and picked up two of the most disappointing soft tacos ever. So, I had an idea.

I recently went grocery shopping and picked up a bag of medium shrimp, but nothing to go along with it (because why think ahead, right?) which prompted my cooking adventure for today: shrimp tacos! Let’s get started. Here’s what you’ll need:img_2651

The recipe I followed was for grilled shrimp tacos, but I don’t have a grill at my apartment so we’re switching this up a little bit. Bear with me. Also, here’s the original recipe if you want to grill it up.

To start off, thaw the shrimp by running it under warm water in a strainer. This takes about 5 minutes. Then, get a small mixing bowl and stir together the milk, sour cream, cumin and mayo. It should look something like this:

img_2652

Place that mixture in the fridge until the end. Then, make the garlic butter sauce by microwaving the butter and mixing in “two large cloves of garlic, minced.” I didn’t feel like mincing garlic, so I took about one heaping tablespoon of pre-minced garlic and threw it in there. Yes, I do love garlic.

At this point, I started warming a large sauce pan and taking the tails off of the shrimp. I had about a pound of medium shrimp, but the original recipe calls for a pound and a half of large shrimp. If you’re cooking for more than one or two people, I would say go ahead and buy the large shrimp.

Toss the shrimp in the garlic butter before throwing it in the pan along with two limes, cut into quarters. If you don’t like the taste of limes, go ahead and skip that part. It can make the shrimp slightly bitter. Cook your shrimp for about 8 minutes, making sure to flip them halfway through. I took the limes out at the halfway point because I didn’t want the lime flavor to be too intense.

Once those are done cooking, set them aside and warm up the tortillas (spray the pan with some pam so they don’t stick. Whoops.) Don’t forget to sprinkle some salt on the shrimp.

While that’s going on, pull out the sour cream mixture from the fridge and get the cabbage. It doesn’t say to do this in the recipe, but I mixed the two together to form sort of a slaw-like concoction.

Now, it’s ready for construction. Spread some of the green salsa on the tortillas, then lay down the shrimp and slaw. Drizzle on a little lime juice and it’s done! It’s pretty simple.

So from now on, save yourself the pain of cheap, nasty tacos on October 4th and wait until the 7th to celebrate national shraco day. It’s a thing now.

 

